Coota Bulls. Back: Ryan Connell, Darren Connell, Jorydn Ballard, Gene Kessell, Corey Gale and Brendan Gale. Front: Koby Godbier, David Garness, Josh Purtell [Captain] Luke Izzard, Dean Bradley and Joel Pearson. Photo courtesy of Lauren Connell. Josh Purtell in full swing as he nails a pull shot, Photo Jack Murray. Man of the Match Joel Pearson.

By Pat Kerin

The Cootamundra Ex-Services Club Bulls have won the Delta Agribusiness Cup defeating the Temora Bowling Club Tigers in the final, which was played at Cranfield Oval in Young on Saturday. Winning the toss and batting, the Bulls scored a healthy total of 9/169 from 40 overs. The Tigers were bowled out in the 32nd over for 134.

The Bulls openers Brendan Gale and captain Josh Purtell got their side away to a solid start. At the drinks break they were 0/58. After the drinks, the game changed dramatically. Gale and Purtell were both dismissed hooking. Purtell made 31 while Gale made 25. The collapse continued with the Bulls losing a further four wickets. In the space of five overs, the Bulls went from a very strong position of 0/60 to 6/76. The rescue came from Joel Pearson and Luke Izzard. The pair worked the gaps and their seventh wicket partnership doubled their team’s score of 76. That partnership was brisk coming from just 12 overs. Pearson top scored with 39 while Izzard made 29. Luke Izzard was an excellent replacement for Matt Berkley who was unavailable So in the first 20 overs, the Bulls scored 58 runs, in the second 20 overs with wickets in hand they scored a further 111 runs.

Tall left arm quick Cody Lynch was the pick of the Tigers bowlers The tall quick captured 3/14 from four overs. Temora needing 170 runs for victory could not have got away to worse start crashing to 3/9 in the third over. Useful scores came from Cody Lynch 34, Matt Gillard 30, while Peter Stimson top scored with 36 not out. While ever Stimson was at the crease, the Tigers were always a chance David Garness was the pick of the Bulls bowlers capturing 4/22 from eight overs.

Fellow quick Dean Bradley captured 2/30, while Joel Pearson snared 2/37. 16-year-old wicketkeeper Corey Gale showed a clean pair of hands taking four catches. Joel Pearson was awarded player of the final with his match saving knock of 39 and his 2/37 with the ball. In the eight seasons of the South West Slopes Cricket League. Cootamundra has an impressive record, winning four of the six finals they have appeared in.